Up the Garden Path 4

Having acquired some plants more than a fortnight ago, rain and a bad back stopped play, so I am only just getting round to planting them. I did go to a willow weaving course to make bird feeders. This was great fun but I am not convinced by the scale of some of the feeders that resulted. Unless you have fat balls the size of footballs, or ostriches visiting the garden, I  foresee a problem. They will find a place nonetheless.

Before utilising said feeders, there was a plan to move the bird table. This was inherited and had been screwed to the wall that retains the raised bed. This is a good move, as a free standing bird table wouldn’t be standing for long when the Atlantic gales set in. Unfortunately, it was positioned so that the window frame blocked my view when sat comfortably on my settee. Not to worry, we can unscrew it and move it further along. Simples. Or not, as it turned out. Unscrewing was easily accomplished but the upright had been seriously chewed by insects. As of this moment, the bird table is lying on the ground awaiting repair and re-erection. We have put up two bird boxes that have seen better days. There isn’t much scope for birdbox positioning here  but I can hope.

I have joined the RHS and they have an app (it is probably an app) where you can add your garden plants and they you get ‘helpful’ reminders about all the million and one jobs that you should be doing each month. Gratifying that I can tick off ‘cut back winter jasmine’.

Yesterday was a glorious day so time to make more progress. The previous owners had put up a wire fence in front of the actual fence, which I think goes all the way along, we can’t get to the bit behind the ‘tin’ shed yet to check. This is all very well and great for growing climbers but it has been there for years, so some of the plants have grown round it and in a few cases the fence is firmly embedded in stems that have grown through it. This adds a whole new dimension to tackling the shrubbery. Nonetheless tackle it we did and another trailer load of winter jasmine is ready to go to the tip. Still not half way though.

Things are about to get serious as operation shed has begun. With all the rain, I discovered that the tiny wooden, gutterless shed, which is very close to the house, was causing rain to run off on to the house wall. With the amount of rain we get, this is not a good thing, so shed removal, which was always on the cards, has moved up to the top of the priority list. So far, the wooden shed has been emptied ready for removal. The next step will be to move the ‘tin’ shed to take its place but a little further from the wall. This will free up the sunniest part of the garden and I can hopefully create a flower bed. This is particularly necessary as I seem to have purchased quite a few plants that like full sun. Not sure how they will go in a garden that is really not sunny but as my mum would say, they will have two chances.

I have also, whisper it quietly, broached the topic of reinstating some lawn. This was not universally well-received and I have had to undertake the cutting of said lawn. As it will only be about 4×2 metres I can cope. In the first garden I owned, we cut a lawn that size with shears for three years. Mind you I was nearly forty five years younger then. I am still tempted by a wild flower lawn that won’t need cutting at all but not sure that that isn’t a bridge too far and dubious about its success in the shade.

We’ve started the great shrubbery clearance at the shadiest end, so some of my purchases remain in pots until we reach the end where ethe sone does venture occasionally. I have planted some foxgloves and cyclamen and risked a lupin and a clematis. I’ve repurposed one of the willow ‘bird feeders’ as an obelisk for the clematis. A honeysuckle and campanula that I brought with me have also been transferred from pot to ground. Next step will be to call in the professionals to turn some of the paving in to lawn.

2 comments on “Up the Garden Path 4

  1. Geniejen says:

    .I am enjoying your descriptions and photos of your garden makeover, most interesting.

  2. judycain says:

    I love reading your garden adventures!!  Thanks so much!!

    Judy

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

Leave a comment