How My Kitchen (and I) Became Famous

liz-in-cottage-kitchen

Liz Shakespeare

I am mopping. I am cleaning. I am tidying. What is going on? I hear you cry. Are you having visitors? Well no, not exactly. Some of you may remember the story of my friend, author Liz Shakespeare, discovering that my kitchen held a significance for her latest book about the life of Edward Capern. I’ve mentioned before that the book is to be accompanied by a CD by Nick Wyke and Becki Driscoll, who have set some of Capern’s poems to music. This includes a fishermen of my acquaintance reading the occasional poetic excerpt. As the launch draws nearer, the publicity machine is grinding in to action. Actually, it is whooshing into action at breakneck speed.

nick-and-becki-in-cottage-kitchen-2

Nick and Becki

My kitchen has been the setting for a photo-shoot; it features in a lovely article in Exmoor Magazine Then, yesterday, the local TV came to call, so I am eagerly anticipating an episode of the local news in the coming weeks.

Strangely, it isn’t just my kitchen that has been in the media lately. Peter Calver reviewed Putting Your Ancestors in their Place: a guide to one-place studies in his Lost Cousins newsletter. Then my seventeenth century social history course for the Society of Genealogists was mentioned in Dick Eastman’s newsletter – wow – fame at last.

Leave a Reply

