Writing and Reading of an Historical Nature

I am still busy getting on top of writing tasks before the festive season really strikes. Writing is also a great excuse as to why I am not excavating boxes that are residing in the office, having been designated as belonging on the ‘do I really want that?’ pile. Turns out that, in some cases, I do. Yesterday I uncovered Ordnance Survey map symbol flash cards – believe me these are more exciting than you think and date from the days when I was a geography teacher by mistake (long story). What will future forays into the unknown reveal? Most of yesterday was spent on the final edits of week four (of five) of my forthcoming online course on twentieth century family/community history. This is shaping up to be particularly appropriate for one-place studiers and those who feel that they should revisit the more recent branches of their family tree. In a timely manner, a blog post that I wrote for the In-depth Genealogist on the value of researching into the twentieth century has just appeared, do click through and take a look. Today’s writing choices include the final edits of week five of the course, an article about straw plaiters or the biography of a world war one servicemen. Variety is the spice of life and all that.

Oh, and for those of you wondering about the DNA, my kit still hasn’t been flagged up on the website as having been received and awaiting lab results. I am hoping that they are just slow to update the status of my sample, rather than an indication that my swabs are lingering in some sorting office in the back of beyond. There is progress on the third cousin tracing front but more of that another time.

indexAnother day, another historical novelist and again a writer based in Devon. Ruth Downie’s books have plenty to spark my interest. They are historical – set in Roman Britain (with side trips to the wider Roman Empire), they are crime stories and the main protagonist is a Medicus, so I get the history of medicine thrown in. Oh, and it is a series so I needn’t be disappointed when I finish the first adventure. So far there are seven books about Gaius Petreius Ruso and his wife Tilla and the reader can follow along as their lives unfold. Beware, as the first books have been reissued with Latin, instead of English, titles, so sadly there are fewer books than you may think.  These are fast paced plots, with characters that you can get to know and love, wrapped up in a well researched historical setting. There will be another writer of similarly themed books later in the calendar and Ruth Downie’s books definitely deserve to be as well known as hers.

Leave a Reply

