Rockstars, Writing and Holiday Preparations

It is all go on the getting ready for Canada front. I am slightly concerned about a) having the wrong flight time on our documentation, despite having had what appears to be the ‘right’ time confirmed b) the 33 foot long camper van (which when extended will be greater in area than the ground floor of my house) c) the ‘to do’ list that has to be tackled before departure – you know that sort of list where you cross one thing off and add two more on d) a trillion other things. At least the talks I am due to give whilst away are prepared – not much else is!

CaptureThis week has seen the announcement of the Genealogical Rockstars Poll for 2015. Last year I was flabbergasted, grateful and truly humbled to be awarded the gold medal for England. I don’t know how this happened but many thanks to all those who felt that they could cast their votes in my favour. This year’s list of 151 contains, understandably, the ‘big’ names in the English speaking world of genealogy. Some of these lovely people I have known for many years, others are new friends, some I have not come across. I thought very carefully about where my votes would go. You can vote for as many names as you like but you need to get it right first time as the system will only let you cast one set of votes per device. The instructions say we are to vote for ‘those who give “must attend” presentations at family history conferences or as webinars. Who, when you see a new family history article or publication by that person, makes it a must buy. Who you hang on their every word on a blog, podcast or newsgroup, or follow avidly on Facebook or Twitter?’ That is quite a tall order and I resisted the temptation to vote for everyone I had heard of, restricting myself to people I feel have made a special contribution to my world. In particular I tried to think about who had made a real input, giving their expertise with enthusiasm and going ‘above and beyond’. I still can’t quite work out how I get to be mentioned in the same breath as some of the iconic nominees. Perhaps there is someone else with my name that I am not aware of and it isn’t me on the list at all! If you’d like to vote for your own favourites you only have until Sunday so click on the link and make your choices.

I am still hoping that Remember Then: women’s memories of 1946-1969 and how to write your own might be out in time for Santa to tuck a copy in your stocking. The publisher has really pulled out all the stops and I can see that my flight to Canada might be spent proof reading! Also due for publication soon is an article I wrote for Devon Historian so long ago that I had forgotten all about it. This one is about the impact of the Bible Christians on rural communities just in time for the bicentennial of the founding of the Bible Christians. Sadly I shall miss the commemorations while I am away. Stand by for my random meanderings as we make our way across Canada – assuming we get on the flight in the first place.

Leave a Reply

