New Book – Family Historians’ Enquire Within now available

Picture2At last, the advance copies of Family Historians’ Enquire Within have arrived. (I am still debating whether the editorial decision to move the apostrophe was the correct one – I have moved it to reflect my opinion). Those of you who have been waiting very patiently should now be able to get a copy from the publishers, Family History Partnership or I will soon have copies for sale myself. For those who aren’t familiar with this volume, last produced in 1995, it is an alphabetical pot pourri of information. Entries include sources, occupations, books, websites and much more. The idea is to cover something about almost everything the family historian might want to know and point readers in the right direction for finding more. It has my name on the cover but much of the text and hard work has been done by my illustrious predecessors who produced the earlier editions. All I have done is to update their efforts.

DSCF1288Getting copies to me was a feat of ingenuity on behalf of the delivery man. I know I promised not to harp on about the building work but currently my front door is out of action, I have no letter box and access to my remaining door is via a two foot six wide chasm. My friend was heard to accuse me of taking living history a little too seriously and she questioned why I had chosen to recreate a World War One landscape in what used to be my garden. There is a distinct resemblance to the Ypres salient and recent persistent heavy rain has not helped. I never really saw a moat as a desirable feature, particularly as I lack a drawbridge.

Whilst on the publishing front, an article I helped to produce on behalf of a late friend has now appeared. ‘Is Blood thicker than water?: Farm servants and the family in nineteenth-century north Devon’ is in the latest edition (strangely this is the autumn 2013 issue) of Local Population Studies.

It has been a busy week with three talks, one day course and a day in the time of the Great Fire of London. Only slightly disconcerted by the seven year old who, whilst discussing the food of the time, asked which animal bread came from – and this in a rural community!

Leave a Reply

