Historical Pot Pourri

As promised, we are back to the history. Another Hangout on Air for the Society for One-Place Studies. This time I was guiding people through choosing your ‘one place’. If you are thinking about taking on this kind of research do listen in. I was just thinking I was getting the idea of all this hanging out when, half way through, I realised I had my printer plugged in instead of my snazzy headphones. It seems you can still hear me though.

Whilst delving into the delights of YouTube, take a look at this amazing video of Buckland Brewer thanks to Burn the Curtain Theatre Company. I can’t believe I am lucky enough to live somewhere so beautiful. The History Group is thriving, with some exciting new projects in the wings. We have had two requests for assistance just this week.

I have been following up on the descendants of those who lost their lives in the Clovelly fishing fleet in 1838. I have managed to find two more with Braund connections. Philip Cowel of Hartland led me a bit of a dance, until I discovered that he was also called Curtis. His daughter married a Braund. James Kelly of Appledore had a son James Kelly Cook who married a Braund – they just get everywhere.

Two talks for Mistress Agnes this week and a lovely time with the ladies of Christchurch, Barnstaple and the history society in Chulmleigh, although Mistress Agnes was very wary in the latter as she heard that the Parliamentarian army was passing through.

At last, a publication date for Family Historians’ Enquire Within January I’m afraid so too late for Santa this year but always an option for spending your Christmas money! Ok, ok, I know I said it would be ready for Christmas but be fair, I didn’t say which Christmas. The typeset proofs for Putting Your Ancestors in their Place have arrived, which is very exciting but not looking forward to spending Christmas indexing.

For those who have brains to tax and minutes to fill over the holiday season do try the charity Christmas Puzzle. I have managed page one with Martha’s help – now for the rest.

Leave a Reply

