Mistress Agnes in the News, Calibrating Cobbles and Medical Reports

It appears that Mistress Agnes, along with Master Christopher, has got herself in December’s Family Tree Magazine. I have no idea how she has achieved this as cameras were not invented in her day and even portraits were dodgy, in case your soul was stolen. I really can’t turn my back for five minutes. Rumour has it that she is off to Westward Ho! tomorrow and in Bude on Monday. People will keep asking her to tell them about her life and times and quite frankly, it just gives her big ideas. She will be insufferable.

In the process of writing my One Place Studies book I have come across this excellent website MyHomesPast. A great opportunity to upload photos of your homes past and present, as well as any pictures you might have of ancestral homes. The only drawback is that I need time to look out all those ancestral home photographs, remind me when those ten day weeks start.

I have been delving more deeply into the Clovelly fishing disaster of 1838 and have identified six possible death registrations for the victims. I’ve been restrained and only ordered three of these, now to wait and see if they are the correct ones.

Another interesting, newly discovered source are the London Medical Officer of Health Reports 1848-1972, available online from the Wellcome Institute.

I haven’t been neglecting my own One Place Studies either. Tonight I am liasing with a local theatre company in connection with a show called The Bureau of Extraordinance Survey. Apparently they ‘calibrate the cobbles, measure the mice, rotate rhubarb and weigh hey as they survey your settlement, no stone will be left unturned or leaf unlisted’ but I am none the wiser.

Leave a Reply

