More Walking and Family History ABC

A pot pourri of bits and pieces since my last post. First – the end of our walking adventures:-

A thick sea mist today, so leaving early to avoid the heat wasn’t really necessary. A bit of a detour trying, unsuccessfully, to find free parking in Salcombe. Better luck in Hope Cove, where today’s walk starts. This section, 8 miles from Inner Hope to Salcombe, is described in our instruction book as ‘strenuous’ – deep joy. In the end it turns out to be less strenuous than anticipated and we even finish in 3½ hours – half an hour less than the books suggests. It is however very humid so we are soon ‘glowing’ nicely. Views are not on the menu with the thick sea mist. Unlike yesterday, we certainly do feel we’ve done something today.

First port of call on returning to the site are the showers. I grab some clean clothes to put on afterwards. I am wearing walking trousers with detachable legs. Unfortunately, as I leave the shower, I realise I have brought the legs and not the shorts part. Not wishing to put on the less than savoury pair that I have just removed, now I am nice and clean, I go for wrapping a towel round me instead. I then have to nonchalantly saunter back across the site trying to make a bath towel look like a fashion statement.

Day 68 23 July 2013 Looking across at Salcombe

By the next day I am almost immobile again. Notwithstanding, we set off to walk from East Portlemouth to Prawle Point. This wasn’t the intended stopping point but there is an annoying diversion due to a cliff fall. I limp along personfully as my knee joins my back in the list of bits of my body that don’t work properly.

We decide to call it a day and cut short our trip, returning to the rugged north. By this time even I am sick of the very long stretches of barely car width road. Glorious drive back across Dartmoor – even more glorious because I avoided the A38 this time. As I herd a flock of sheep with my car in order to make progress, I revel in how wonderful the Devon landscape can be.

We are in the midst of a wonderful fest of family and friend visits but I am making time for history too. Another great day in the C17th with folk from the local care home and others, plus promoting Clovelly Archive Association at Woolsery Show and planning for the soon to be launched Buckland Brewer History Group.

On the writing front, Family Historians’ Enquire Within is now at the printers and I am waiting for proofs. Put it on your Christmas list folks – you won’t regret it. A new project beckons – watch this space. 3 entries to whet your appetite:-

A is for AIM25 The website provides access to collection level descriptions of the archives of more than a hundred institutions within the London area. These include the records of London livery companies, higher education institutions and learned societies.

B is for BARGES See also Boatmen, Canals and Watermen. From 1795-1871, all boats and barges exceeding thirteen tons burden used on inland navigations had to be registered with the Clerk of the Peace. Such records are with the Quarter Sessions (q.v.) records in CROs. Information on the history of the sailing barge can be obtained from the National Maritime Museum. The Society for Sailing Barge Research website is useful. A website entitled Thames Sailing Barges is also very informative and details a number of museums and other sources of information.

C is for COUNTESS OF HUNTINGDON’S CONNEXION This was connected with the Methodist denomination. The Countess Selina (1707-1791) advocated the principles of Methodism and appointed George Whitfield, a notable preacher, as her chaplain. Her name was given to Whitfield’s followers. The Countess founded a college in Wales and built many chapels. The earliest register of this sect comes from Norfolk and dates back to 1752. The movement spread throughout the country. Registers were deposited with the Registrar General in accordance with the 1840 Act and are in TNA.

One comment on “More Walking and Family History ABC

  1. Caro - Claire Wiles says:

    Thanks again for the very interesting update of your adventurous walks.

Leave a Reply

