K is for Kings – the history interpreter’s historical advent calendar and a brilliant quiz

Note to self – 7th December is far too early to start Christmas celebratory food. A lovely lunch with fellow villagers yesterday left me semi-comatose for the rest of the day. I did manage to write the rest of the Christmas cards. It is sad to think that I am probably the last generation who will send ‘real’ cards but I am a sucker for them. And, yes, I do include the ubiquitous ‘Christmas Letter’. I used to handwrite these by the dozen but the days have long since gone when anyone could actually read my handwriting. I am still living down the incident when I wrote ravioli on the shopping list and my personal shopper came back with carrots. Personally I am always really excited when cards I receive contain some form of letter, I don’t care how round and robin like it is, so I naively assume others like my offerings.

Today my daughter sent me the link to the eagerly anticipated annual Christmas Quiz. One year 3 PhDs, 2 graduates and 3 other super brains failed to finish it between them. Unfortunately we were so nearly there – with just three answers to go (out of 120) we sat up late into the night. Not only am I mega competitive but I hate to be beaten. Had we only done half of it I would probably have been content to give up! So you can try too I’ve included the link – just don’t blame me if it gets to you like it gets to me – and it is all in aid of charity.

I am realising that I should have spaced the advent alphabet entries out more evenly so just one offering today – K.

Kings

There is no biblical evidence for three kings; they were magi, or wise men. Magi were, like the followers of Zoroaster, those who read the stars and assessed what the stars foretold. Nor is there any evidence that there were three of them. The wise men brought three different gifts therefore there it is assumed that there were three wise men; an idea perpetualted by the carol, where they are given names. Their arrival is celebrated at Epiphany (6th January).

Leave a Reply

