Christmas gift idea for historians

Well, I’ll get the advert over first. I am offering gift wrapped copies of my book Coffers, Clysters, Comfrey and Coifs (RRP £12.95), posted anywhere in the UK, for £13 – a great present idea for those history loving friends or family members. Overseas prices on request – contact me on historyinterpreter@hotmail.co.uk

My daytime sessions in the C17th are over for 2012. I now of course delude myself that I will get all those jobs done, that have remained undone since March. I have no basis on which to come to this conclusion but I guess I can hope. Yesterday, during a C17th session with thirteen year olds, I was asked, in all seriousness, if they had Facebook at the time of the Civil War. I explained the no electricity = no computers scenario but the enquirer clearly thought I was making this inconceivable idea up. Sad though that this young person had never spoken to his parents or grandparents about their childhoods.

After work I went off to vote, always an incongrous activity in C17th costume but important to exercise my democratic rights. People chained themselves to railings so I could be one of the 15% to turn out. Wonder what would happen if we adopted the Australian system of making voting compulsory?

Been adding a few more historical quotes to pages of my website, gleaned from yesterday’s school visit. Can you spot them?

As anticipated, my own contribution to Instruments of Death ended up on the cutting room floor but my three colleagues feature – an interesting series.

Now which of the 18 things on my ‘to do’ list to tackle first?

One comment on “Christmas gift idea for historians

  1. A few years ago I had an interesting discussion with my late husband’s granddaughter, Samantha, aged 12. She had been assigned a history-related project in school. I was explaining to her that my great great grandfather had arrived here in Canada from Scotland in 1820, and his family had settled not far away from where we live now. I tried to explain how difficult the life of his family must have been. The area had just been surveyed and opened to settlement, there were no roads, no schools, and the first church in the area was not built until the 1860’s. Sam looked at me with one eyebrow raised, as if I was pulling her leg. Yes, Sam, I told her. There were no roads, no stores, and no buildings that the new settlers didn’t build themselves. Oral history records that one of my great great grandfathers had the first horse in the district. Sam still looked at me with that quizical eye. Well, she said, that makes a fine story, but why don’t you tell the truth! The young can never believe that life was ever different from what they experience themselves. Cheers.

    Brenda Turner

Leave a Reply

