Emigrants today @ Devon FHS conference

Up early today to set off for Devon Family History Society Summer Special in Exeter. I set up my stall and ‘Coffers, Clysters, Comfrey and Coifs’ sells well. I have a different hat on for my talk – the last of the day. I am speaking about emigration from Devon. The first speaker battles with a six foot square screen in a large sports hall with appalling accoustics – this could be a problem. I toy with the idea of raiding the first aid kit and safety pinning my table cloth to a curtain to make a screen. I then spot something that looks like a screen on the ceiling, it is 4 times the size of the one we are trying to use. We manage to find someone who can work the electrics to lower it but it descends in the middle of the audience. Not to worry – they move their chairs back and it’s sorted!

We have talks on the poor law, on Jews in Devon and some sea shanties before it is my turn. Despite people having spent the whole day on fairly uncomfortable plastic chairs, I still have an audience and the talk goes well. Now to tackle dealing with a new computer – how I hate learning curves!

Leave a Reply

